When is 0.5lb heavier than 2lb?

When you’ve lost 2lb but 2.5lb would make your total loss a WHOLE STONE! I was hoping to be showing you a lovely One Stone Weight Loss certificate today! I weighed in last night and was thrilled with my 2lb weight loss but disappointed that 0.5lb was coming between me and that longed for certificate and shiny sticker!

On the positive side – TWO-POUND!!!! GONE!!!! This is a constant chipping away but I really do feel better each day, it’s a bit like walking Lands End to John O’Groats without the blisters (though you do feel the pain!) – every day I’m a day closer to being how I want to be and to being in that sought after healthy weight range!

On Sunday I wore a dress that I haven’t been able to zip up for  year! and it wasn’t just zipped up – it was comfortable enough to wear all day!

Love this dress - so pleased to be back in it! <3
Love this dress – so pleased to be back in it! ❤

A word of warning though! Monday I had my eye on the target and was really working hard at a successful Tuesday Weigh In – I decided to fill up on fish with a HUGE salad, with a lemon and balsamic vinegar dressing, lots of onions, pickled beetroot and loads of fruit to follow, fruit salad with every fruit imaginable including lots of citrus fruit and very very stupidly an orange before bed time. This resulted in waking up an hour or so after going to bed and finding myself in the middle of a nocturnal asthma attack!

Over the years I’ve been able to keep my asthma under control with medication, but my weight gain has always made it that much worse. However, I haven’t had an attack like that for years. I couldn’t understand what had brought it on until I of course googled causes – and one of them was heartburn/acid reflux – apparently the stomach acid goes up through the esophagus to the larynx and may stimulate a bronchial spasm and sometimes acid from the stomach irritates the lower esophagus and lead to constriction of your airways. If stomach acid backs up to your throat, it may drip down to the trachea, airways and lungs, leading to a severe reaction. This can involve airway irritation, increased mucus production, and airway tightening. (info from WebMD’s asthma guide)

This of course may not have been the reason I had an attack, but I have a feeling it most likely was!!!

I was experiencing severe heartburn/acid reflux and chest pains before starting at Slimming World and I must say – since following their eating plan, I have had absolutely no symptoms until I took it upon myself to OD on massive quantities of the acidic food previously mentioned!

That is a mistake I wont be making again if I can possibly avoid it!

Leave a comment